#5. Fragile Things & #6. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

FragileThingsShortFictionsandWondersPS_PaperbackPS_1213846460After reading American Gods and The Ocean at the End of the Lane last year, I thought I might dive in to the other Gaiman books on my shelf.

Neil Gaiman’s Fragile Things is a short story/poetry collection full of creepy vignettes and heartfelt nostalgia. I was blown away just by the first paragraph of the first story, a Sherlock Holmes/H.P. Lovecraft mashup of sorts called “A Study in Emerald.” What if the Old Ones…came? And then life continued as normal? It is ingeniously written, blending the narrative deftness of a detective story and the weighty gloom of supernatural horror, and got me excited for the remainder of the book. Some of my other favorites from this collection are “October in the Chair,” “Locks,” “Instructions,” “Feeders and Eaters,” “Goliath,” “How to Talk to Girls at Parties,” and “Sunbird.” Fairy tales, body horror, flying saucers, even a brief immersion into the Matrix universe — the creativity and diversity are so impressive!

Coraline is a delightful book, one I have been meaning to read for quite some time now. I thoroughly enjoyed the film that came out, and even had the very great privilege to talk to Henry Selick about it at SXSW in 2009. Coraline is a bright young girl who considers herself an expert explorer. Though she feels her parents and her life are fairly dull, she learns to be brave under some nightmarish circumstances that occur in her very own house. The edition I read was filled with amazing artwork, including some particularly frightening images of the Other Mother.

1915741_789985974759_6254125_n

Can you tell that I was a little bit into Coraline? Coraline/me, right. Flo the Progressive Lady/Delia, left.

Does anyone have any more Neil Gaiman recommendations for me?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

